Meet the Fitness Instructors!

November 16, 2010 § Leave a comment

Without further adieu, here are the fitness class instructors to get to know them better!

Winona State University fitness instructor Kayla Sellers

Kayla Sellers

Name: Kayla Sellers

Hometown: Austin, MN

Major/Minor: Elementary Education/ Coaching

Year: 4th Year Senior

What got you to teach WSU fitness classes?: I enjoyed going to the classes so much I thought I would try out to be an instructor.

Favorite Athletic Activity: Dancing or kickboxing. Anything that gets you up and moving.

Classes Taught: Power Hour and Kickboxing

Winona State University fitness instructor Emily Fischer

Emily Fischer

Name: Emily Fischer

Hometown: McHenry, IL

Major/Minor: Exercise Science major with a Nutrition minor

Year: Junior

What got you to teach WSU fitness classes?: I attended classes my freshman year at WSU and I loved it!  The classes were fun and challenging and I really looked up to the instructors teaching the classes.  So when I saw they need additional instructors I tried out for the position.  Also, with being an Exercise Science major, I could use some experience!

Favorite Athletic Activity: Running, Basketball, and Soccer

Classes Taught: Butt and Gut

Winona State University fitness instructor Salena Apikelis

Salena Apikelis

Name: Salena Apikelis

Hometown: Shoreview, MN

Major: Psychology

Year: Senior

What got you to teach WSU Fitness Classes?: I used to go to the classes all the time and I loved them! So when I heard they were having tryouts I figured I might as well try out since I knew all the routines by heart anyways. I was pretty nervous teaching my first class, but I really enjoy instructing.

Favorite Athletic Activity: Tennis and Canoeing

Classes Taught: Butt and Gut and TNT (Tighten and Tone)

Winona State University fitness instructor Chelsea Humpal

Chelsea Humpal

Name:  Chelsea Humpal

Hometown: Decorah, IA

Major/Minor: Cell and Molecular Biology with a Pre-vet scope

Year: Junior

What got you to teach WSU fitness classes?:  I attended some classes Freshman year and really enjoyed them.  I heard that they were holding interviews for a new yoga instructor and I jumped at the opportunity.  I really enjoy doing yoga so I figured why not share my passion with everyone through instructing.

Favorite Athletic Activity: Yoga of course! …and all other sports or outdoor activities!

Classes Taught: Yoga

Winona State University fitness instructor Laura Rusnacko

Laura Rusnacko

Name: Laura Rusnacko

Hometown: Shoreview, MN

Major/Minor: Nursing/Spanish

Year: Junior

What got you to teach WSU fitness classes? I love working out in a group – It makes exercise more fun!

Favorite Athletic Activity: Running & Dancing

Classes Taught: Kickboxing and Butt and Gut

Winona State University fitness instructor Hilary Johnson

Hilary Johnson

Name: Hilary Johnson

Hometown: Ellsworth, WI

Major/Minor: Special Education- learning disabilities and developmental disabilities

Year: Senior

What got you to teach WSU fitness classes? I saw a flyer in the dorms about trying out (when I was a freshman). I did and got the job!

Favorite Athletic Activity: This is hard…. I enjoy a lot of activities, but I love to dance!

Classes Taught: Butt and Gut
Not listed:  Blair with TNT and Butt and Gut Michelle with Yoga

Cassie Hanson

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Meet the Fitness Instructors! at .

meta

